Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-23-2011, 09:02 PM - 4 Likes   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Circular Polarizing Filter (CPL): Not great but good enough

I'm still rather new to DSLRs and my K-x, but I have discovered a few things that have helped me take better pictures. One issue that regularly comes up is Circular Polarizers (CPLs). I've tested and compared a few of the middle range ones to see if they are good enough.
First, here are some of my initial premises:
  • In general, I don't use any filters (or protector filters) at all.
  • In general, a hood is more important than a filter. I almost always use a hood.
  • I don't use a CPL on my lens unless the situation demands it.
So, the next issue is what CPL to buy. Yes, you can buy some for under $10 and some will cost you hundreds. Yes, I know that the general sentiment around here is that it is absurd to put a cheap filter in front of your expensive equipment. BUT...
I'm on the low end of photographic excellence with my K-x and a used Pentax DA 16-45 as my most expensive lens. (I'm not complaining. I'm happy w/ the pics I'm able to get with the budget I'm working on.) So, it also seems somewhat absurd to me to put a CPL that costs $100+, that I only use occasionally, on front of my modest gear.
So, I've read the posts here and looked at that very helpful Lenstip review, and I've tried to find somewhat inexpensive CPLs that are admittedly not great but certainly good enough. I'll share some of my experiences, and perhaps it will help others of you in a similar boat.
Here's what I have:
  • Kenko CPL Digital Filter High Quality 72mm ($19 on$bay)
  • Vivitar Series 1 CPL Multi-coated 67mm ($15 @ Adorama)
  • Marumi CPL DHG 58mm ($21 on $bay)
  • Massa CPL 52mm (given to me; usually less than $10)

OBSERVATIONS
  • Each brand has various quality levels of CPLs.