Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
10-24-2014, 04:36 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
What should I buy, DA 35 mm 2.4 or DA 50 mm 1.8

I am a newbie, my equipment is a K50, the 18-55 WR kit lens and few very cheap and old telezooms (Pentax F 28-80, Pentax F 35-80, Tamron 28-200).

I am absolutely not satisfied with the sharpness of the 18-55 lens (yes, I know that is a kit lens...) so I am going to buy a cheap prime lens (I can't spend more money).

My doubt is between the DA 35 mm f/2.4 AL SMC and DA 50 mm f 1.8 SMC. I have read all the reviews here on PentaxForums and it seems that they are both great lenses, the 50mm seems to be slightly better.

The price here in Italy is 189,90 euro for each (it includes 4 years official Pentax warranty. I could save around 50 euro without this warranty but I think that it is not a good idea..).

My doubts are related with the focal lenght. I am going to buy this lens now mainly because in the beginning of next year I am going to have a travel in New York/Niagara Falls/Puerto Rico, so I would like to buy a lens good for travel photography. I am not expert, mainly because I never travel till today with a DSLR, so I don't know which is the most used focal lenght. For the moment I have taken a lot of pics in any focal lenght of my 18-55, so I can't say that I am more wide-angle or zoom.
My idea is to take with me the 18-55 and this new one I am going to buy.

Maybe is a good idea to take the 50mm and use the kit lens just for wide angle focal lenght?

Any advices?

10-24-2014, 04:42 AM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

The 35 is more versatile. Your portraits can include more of the background - it's a classic photojournalism angle of view.

But the 50 is longer, quicker and will give you a narrower depth of field capability than your kit lens does.

Last edited by clackers; 10-24-2014 at 05:03 AM.