Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-24-2014, 05:48 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Re: Sigma 10-20 f/4-5.6

Hi:

I recently purchased the Sigma 10-20 f/4-5.6.

I am a portrait photographer for the most part (enthusiast, not pro!!!), but wanted to have a wide angle lens for some landscape work and am traveling this coming summer to Europe and wanted to have the option of having a wide angle lens.

When I played around with the lens for a bit at home and in our backyard I was very disappointed. Even at f/8 the lens seemed a bit "smeary," both indoors and outdoors.

I was set to return the lens and decided to shoot with it in our home without a UV filter on it (an expensive one at that--it came from my DA* 300, which produces great images). I recently read a post from someone who found out that his lens (I forget which lens) performed poorly with a UV filter on it.

I know there is a whole debate out there about the need for such filters, but I always have shot with one on all of my lenses and up until now have always been happy with my images.

I just had the time to take a few quick pics in our house and without the UV filter the images were quite good. The lens back focused a fair amount, but so do all of my Sigma lenses. A quick +4 took care of that. On my original test images, even though the lens back focused, nothing was really sharp, anywhere. Not horribly out of focus, but soft everywhere.

I am going to test the lens outside over the next few days to see if the lens does well outside without the UV filter--and I would assume it would, if it did well indoors without the UV filter.

So my question is this, do wide angle lenses, perhaps this one in particular, perform poorly or less well with a UV filter?

The lens is relatively inexpensive and I would love to be able to keep it.

Thanks so much for any thoughts or suggestions.

11-24-2014, 07:14 AM   #2

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by candgpics Quote
Hi: