Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
12-17-2014, 12:54 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Landscape lens - seeking advice

I'd like to buy a lens for landscape shots. I have a K-3, a couple of K-xs (one with 150K clicks - love that camera). As far as current wide options go, I have a couple of the DAL 18-55s and the Tamron 18-200 - neither of which I think very highly of.

I'd like to keep the price at 800 or so dollars or less.
I'm leaning toward the 18-135 WR because I don't have a single weather-resistant lens.
If I got the 18-135 WR, I might get the Tamron 17-50 in addition (close to the price point, right?).

I'm not averse to buying a Pentax prime, but all things equal I'd like a little more range.

I've read as many reviews as I could find, but I'm getting confused-er by the minute.

What should I be thinking about - criteria?

I'm by no means a professional, but I'm not terrible either tho I haven't shot many landscapes since my K-1000 (50mm) days. Lately, it's been mostly flowers/closeups. Please advise.

Last edited by corvin; 12-17-2014 at 01:10 PM.
12-17-2014, 01:20 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I just purchased the 18-135 to take to South America and Antarctica. I was on good behavior as my wife shouted the the trip for our 40th wedding anniversary. I figured my usual 17kg of gear would not be appropriate.

The 18-135 did much better than I expected on my K3. (I also had my trusty 60-250 which is sensational.) the major drawback was some curvature on my horizons. the dark corners are quickly fixed in lightroom.

The reason for considering the 18-135 is that many landscape opportunities are at the 135 end of the range. My favorite landscape lens is the 50-135. My least used landscape lens is my 15mm Ltd. I use my 21mm and 35 mm Ltd heaps.