Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-03-2015, 12:31 PM   #1

Pentax 55-300WR on K50 and K3

Hi Folks,

I've posted on the DP Review forum and thought I'd also post about my problem over here.

I'm very new to Pentax and really, really like both my K50 and K3. I also like the 18-135mm WR on either camera. My problem is with the 55-300mm WR. In many ways, I really like the lens. It's pretty sharp, beautifully built, good colors, and fun to use,.......but only in good light. Early morning shooting is not fun. The focus hunting is very annoying. I've learned that this is "fairly normal" with this lens and members have various work arounds they use. I've tried the trick of manually focusing at infinity and letting the AF come inward. Supposed to be a little faster. Well, I guess it is. It just seems to me that we shouldn't have to struggle to get focus.

I can still return the lens. Does anyone use the Sigma 18-250mm macro, the similar Tamron, or any other zoom options over 250mm? Thanks for any suggestions.

Jack

03-03-2015, 12:45 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'd recommend considering upgrading to the K-S2 or K-5 II. Those cameras have newer AF systems that focus considerably faster and more accurately in poor light. You can expect other consumer telephoto zooms or superzooms to deliver similar performance to the 55-300mm, since most are in the F5.6-6.3 range at the long end.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
03-03-2015, 12:50 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Adam Quote