Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 10 Likes Search this Thread
05-03-2016, 05:13 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Best sub $100 telephoto lens

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hello!

I am new to this forum but have been reading lens reviews from this site for a while. I am a student and don't have a ton of money and I am looking for the best telephoto lens under or around the hundered dollar mark. I curently have a 50mm f 1.4 m-series lens that I love and have been using my Grandfathers 80-200mm f 3.9 JCPenny lens that produces some underwhelming photos and will be replacing. I love prime lenses and have been torn between a m-series 135mm f3.5 and a F-series 70-210mm f4. Would either of those be a good bet for me or am I leaving out something else that performs better than those for a similar price.

Thanks,
Kurt Egelhaaf

05-03-2016, 05:35 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The M series 135 is a pretty good lens in my opinion (I own it), and in my mind one of its virtues is that at least when it's focused to infinity, it's the shortest lens I've ever seen for its focal length. This may be of interest to you if you prefer to take only a small camera bag or even just a vest with large pockets, and if you don't mind being restricted to one focal length.