Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-07-2016, 11:06 PM   #1

DA 12-24mm F4 color rendition issue?

I've been owning this lens for a few years now. I know it's a pretty sharp lens and gives great results for this focal length since I don't have a prime in this range to compare with. But I'm wondering if this is just my copy or other people having this issue or not - the color rendition looks unnatural to me, at least no close to my other lenses (mostly primes), such as DA 40mm, DA 70mm, FA 50mm 1.7, etc. To be more specific, on a overcast day, or in shadow, the color looks dull and it takes a great effort to increase the saturation to bring the color back. But in a sunny day the color could go the other direction - too deep and too contrasty and I will have to dial down the saturation and contrast to make it even. Sometimes after staring at the same image for a few minutes make my eyes sore so I had to give up. Does anybody have the same issue? Or how should I work around it? BTW I'm shooting mostly RAW.

12-07-2016, 11:22 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Could the vignetting be to blame perhaps?

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
12-07-2016, 11:35 PM   #3

Original Poster
I suspect vignetting is not the issue. I'm including two images here. The first one was taken with 12-24mm @18mm, and the second one with 31mm. Both at F11. So the colors are quite different. The second one is more natural to me.
Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-1  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-1  Photo 
12-07-2016, 11:48 PM   #4

Photos: Gallery