Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-27-2016, 02:54 PM - 1 Like   #1

B&H keeps re-subscribing me to the e-mail newsletters.

I have been using B&H for close to 20 years, first by placing orders over the phone, then online. (I remember Henry answering questions in Usenet groups.) As a matter of fact, my first Pentax SLR, ZX-5n, was most likely purchased from B&H.
(I don't remember for sure, as I was choosing between B&H, Adorama, and Camera World of Oregon, while that was independent].)

With ALL stores and websites, I am very diligent not to opt-in to any e-mail lists, with only a handful of exceptions. (And I've been dealing with lots of places, not only for private purchases, but also for work-related ones.)
And I've already stopped buying anything from a few companies that kept spamming me.

B&H keeps re-subscribing me to their unsolicited commercial e-mails - UCE (aka SPAM).

Just a short history:
After placing an order on 07/19/2012 (it was placed on the phone, because there was a weird price change while I was placing the order online), I started receiving UCE from B&H.
After unsubscribing, I have e-mail confirmation:
Tue, 14 Aug 2012 13:11:52 -0400 (EDT) - "... This message is to confirm that you have been unsubscribed from the B&H
Newsletter mailing list. .."

Past many orders in-between, fast-forward to December 2015.
I placed an order on December 9, 2015 (online)
Next day, I received a price-drop alert for an item in my wishlist (I didn't request that alert), and then 2 more messages still in December, and one message in January.
Between March and June, I received the total of 3 messages, and then, I've been bombarded in July: Between July 13 and today (July 27), I received 7 messages.