Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-22-2014, 01:51 PM   #1
Forum Member

K5 II or K5 IIs

Hello everyone. I've just joined the forum and this is my first post in this part of the forum. I'm after some advice, as I am yet to buy into the Pentax system.

I used high end Canon semi professionally for many years, before moving to m4/3 around 4 years ago and shooting purely for enjoyment. I'm now in a position to go back to a DSLR system, and am extremely interested in the K5 II and K5 IIs. I am a very keen photographer, but have no intention of doing anything other than taking pictures for pure enjoyment. I tend to shoot mainly family portraits and landscape / cityscapes. I'm starting from scratch, and am looking for this to be the start of building up a new system.

I understand the differences between the two cameras and have read / watched many reviews, but what I'd be really interested to hear real world experiences. There's a straight £100 difference body only between the two models here in the UK, and I want to know if that would be money well spent. The K3 would be a huge stretch for me financially, but might be doable. Would it be worth it?

Thanks in advance for any information you can provide :-)

Cheers,

Simon.

08-22-2014, 02:39 PM   #2
Master of the obvious
Loyal Site Supporter

Welcome to the forum! I have neither of those cameras, just the K-5 and K-3. From that experience I would get the s. I'm not sure I would pay that much extra, though. From what I see it's hard to spot the difference between the IIs and the II after applying a round of unsharp mask. No personal experience, though.

Is the K-3 better? Yes, in almost every way, but mostly by small increments. A lot of small improvements and a few bigger ones. Is it worth the extra money? Since I have one I suppose I believe it is, but my head says a K-5II is more bang for the buck. Rather invest the extra in some nice lenses.