Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
3 Likes  #1
Big Bend National Park
Lens: 15, 21, 31 Limited Camera: K-3 Photo Location: Big Bend National Park, TX ISO: 100 
Posted By: Outis, 01-29-2015, 07:44 AM

Here are some of my favorite pictures from my annual Christmas/New Year's trip to Big Bend National Park. I've been doing this off and on for the past twenty years. This trip, the weather was just crazy-- freezing and snowing with freezing fog, and in the 60's and sunny, sometimes in the same day only a few miles apart!

This is fog entering the Chisos Basin:

This is Tuff Canyon:

This is a cemetery near an abandoned candelilla factory:

This is fog entering the Chisos Basin through the Window:

This is Chief Alsate with frost and fog:

This is the Window:

There are more photos here (70-ish picture version, 150-ish picture version, 350-ish picture version). Enjoy!
Views: 1,195
01-29-2015, 08:01 AM   #2
Veteran Member

That's a great series--the last two are my favorites, I think. FWIW, I've been puzzled why there aren't more photos, say, from Big Bend or the Hill Country on the board (or even on Flickr)...that's a beautiful part of the world (and you probably understand how hard it was to just type that, coming from a native Arkansan!)
01-29-2015, 09:10 AM   #3
F/8 & Somewhere
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
A great set of images, with added drama from the fog. Indeed a beautiful area, and definitely worthy of a trip. Love the image with frost and fog.

I image summer weather is quite different, with a very different look. Thanks for sharing.
01-29-2015, 06:30 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Very nice! It is one of my life's ambitions to get to Big Bend--has been for quite some time! Still, it's really far away...

01-30-2015, 03:10 AM   #5
eva
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Big Like!
01-30-2015, 07:49 AM   #6
Veteran Member

Beautiful series, all great images!
01-30-2015, 07:56 AM   #7
Loyal Site Supporter