Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
12-19-2014, 10:26 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Starting out - kit suggestions?

I have a Pentax K-5II with various lenses, including the 18-135mm kit lens, the 55-300mm lens, the 50mm f/1.7 prime, and the 300mm f/4.5 prime.

Most of my shooting up until now has been outdoor, including wildlife, sports and landscape.

I now wish to venture into studio photography and I would like some suggestions as to what basic I should get, such as reflectors, remote flash units, etc. Initially I will probably do mostly product/food photography before venturing into portraiture.

I am not a professional so I don't want to get all the (expensive) bells and whistles, but I also don't want to get cheap and nasty kit that will frustrate me later and cost me in the long run.

I have recently got myself a small 5-in-1 reflector kit and I thought the next step would be an off board flash unit.

I await your pearls of wisdom!

12-19-2014, 10:46 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
If you want a flash unit, I think the best value is Yongnuo 560 series I have 560iii but there is now a iv. Only manual operation but power can be adjusted from 1/1 to 1/128. The flash will act as an off camera slave without need of any extra transmitter.
12-19-2014, 10:56 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
A couple of those Yongnuos supplemented with a couple of older $10-15 Sunpak 433 D units is a great start and won't break the bank. Check out the "Strobist Kits" from MPE for diffusers, reflectors, stands, backdrops. etc.
12-20-2014, 04:04 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Yongnuo flashes are certainly the cheapest but I'm not sure whether they are the "best value".