Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
2 Likes  #1
Winners Weekly Challenge #324 - “Outliers and the (un)familiar”
Posted By: DoctorX, 05-21-2015, 03:57 PM

Hello Folks! I'll get to the results after a quick disclosure. I feel that I'm not in a position to judge the quality of other people's photography because I'm pretty new to the scene. Thus, I judged them on how well they represented the theme. My comments are mainly to offer an explanation of how I interpreted your photos. Finally, please excuse the brevity and typos, I've got a stomach bug so I'm not running at 100%.

Outis- a boar with antlers (horns if you're from the city). What could be better. It fits the theme with three deer and the boar as outlier.

Simon_199- some Star Wars fans that stand out from the crowd (definition 2). That's a damn fine land speeder and I like the expression on Obiwan's face.

Charliezap- a clear outlier by either definition. The balloons make a practical addition to the hat. I like the color and expression of the subjects.

SpecialK- If I understand, the mushroom is the outlier against a backdrop of headstones sticking out of the ground. Aside from being different, it also stands apart from the rest. Excellent. I also appreciate that the roundness of the background parallels the roundness of the mushroom cap.

Chmance- a beautiful shot all around. Love the flowers, composition, and creamy bokeh. The single flower opening makes it the outlier.

Atupdate- everyone loves baby animals, especially a terra cota pot full of puppies. Here the outlier is prominently displayed on top of the rest of the litter. You did a great job of isolating the subject without creating a lot of harsh shadows. Not easy with four squirmy subjects.

Ramseybuckeye- crabby Abe Lincoln is clearly the outlier here ( definition 1 and 2) I like his menacing look and what appears to be a blackjack in his left hand. He means business.