Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-29-2014, 05:52 PM   #1
Olivia

Can I use MC lens on K-50?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I want to check that buying this lens - Focal brand 28mm f2.8 MC will work on my K-50. I am a beginner photographer and this is a used lens. Will I need to buy some kind of adapter?

Cheers,
Olivia

08-29-2014, 06:40 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Pictures? Link? I think Focal was the house brand for a retail chain. Maybe k-mart?? Your lens should work if it is k-mount without and adapter. But I think, not 100% sure, that they made some M42 lenses as well. If yours is M42 then it will still work, but will need an adapter.

Picture of the mount will tell all.
08-29-2014, 07:35 PM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by jatrax Quote
Maybe k-mart??
Yep, K-Mart.

Steve

---------- Post added 08-29-14 at 07:36 PM ----------

Be sure to check for the Ricoh Pin before mounting the lens. Google "Ricoh Pin" for more information as well as images.

Steve
08-29-2014, 07:40 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by stevebrot Quote
Yep, K-Mart.
Did focal have M42 as well or only k-mount?

08-29-2014, 09:46 PM   #5
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Did focal have M42 as well or only k-mount?
In short, yes. I am aware of Focal being sold during most of the 1970s and 1980s.* During that time they were made in all the major Japanese camera mounts in much the same way as Vivitar.

Here is a link to a current eBay auction:

Pentax Fit Focal 200mm F3 5 M42 Lens Screw Mount Prime | eBay

Steve

* I quite shopping at K-mart about that time...
08-30-2014, 07:56 AM   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by stevebrot Quote