Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
09-29-2016, 02:06 PM   #1
patrickhenryhague

disk size 8 vs. 25 for a K-50

I am new to this. I just received a Pentax K-50 and would like to know the benefits of using SanDisk Ultra PLUS SDHC UHS card 32GB up to 80MB/s (whatever all this means) over a Kingston SD HC 8GB 10? I have both and have been using the Kingston. The SanDisk is new, never been used and still in its package. I also understand that there is a way to transfer images from my camera to my I phone and my ipad with the right disk are any of my disks correct for this? I'm getting to be an old (74 yrs.) man because of all this new stuff I cannot understand. HELP!

09-29-2016, 02:25 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
The SanDisc has 4 times the storage space of the Kingston card. 80MB/sec in the read speed (how fast the computer can read data from the card). Write speed (how fast the camera can write data to the memory card) is slower, but fast enough for the K-50. These items are not called disks, they are called memory cards. Or SD cards.
09-29-2016, 02:29 PM - 1 Like   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hey, welcome!
No worries, let's just clear things up
First, these are SD cards and they are not actually "disks" - just refer to them as cards. Second, 8BG and 32GB is a big difference in capacity. The 32GB card can store 4x as many photos as the 8GB card. This difference is quite big and can come in handy if you go on a long trip or take a lot of video. Most people still prefer to fill smaller SD cards first, because you lose fewer photos in case of card failure or loss. The GB number is the total capacity. The speed can be important, but with modern class 10 or UHS-1 cards it is enough. Older cards that might be class 6 or class 4 can require extra time between photos, which can slow down burst mode photography.