Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-28-2016, 03:13 PM   #1

Talk to me about fine art photography... Need some advice

So a little background... I work full time as an engineer. I "discovered" photography a few years ago when I semi-inherited a Minolta X-570 (which I love). I'm currently going to school to finish my engineering degree but I couldn't stay away from the photography electives and eventually signed-up for the photo minor. I love that the classes not only have taught me new technical skills (Photoshop, studio lighting, etc) but they also have pushed me considerably from a creative point of view. The classes also end up being somewhat immersive in that for the duration of the class, there's lots of shooting and discussions about our work, our classmate's work, and professional's work.

Now that I'm nearing graduation (one more summer class) I'm trying to figure out how to continue with my photography in a more serious way than what a typical hobbyist might pursue. I've taken a liking to fine art photography; sports, wildlife, event, and product photography don't really interest me. I could of course continue to shoot and work on my own projects, but... then what? Do I just post them to Flickr? Make prints for my dining room? Those paths seem somehow very unfulfilling. I'm not looking to make any money and I'm OK with photography being a financial net-loss overall. What I do want is to be able to continue to push myself and share and discuss my work in a community of other photographers.

Is this even possible outside of the protective bubble that is the university setting? What do most fine art photographers actually do? Any advice from the pros here...? Since all my experience is in engineering, I really don't know what the professional photography world even looks like.

And apologies for the long post, thanks for sticking it out to the end.

05-28-2016, 03:26 PM   #2

Thought about stock photography?