Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-29-2015, 09:44 PM   #1

Exposure problems with new K-50

I just upgraded from my Kx to a K-50. I wanted to test out the higher ISO so I started shooting in a dark environment on Av mode (Tripod mounted IR release). My K-50 is exceedingly dark with every shot. I can compensate for this by using exposure compensation but I don’t feel I should have to do that (and have to go to +5 to get a properly exposed image). My Kx had adequate exposures but was doing longer shutter speeds (ie at ISO 6400 f3.8 K50 shoots for 1/8s and Kx shoots for 1/5s. The Kx has a shutter speed 1.6X longer for nearly every image). When I set the K-50 manually to settings that match the Kx (i.e. 6400iso; 1/5; f3.8), the K-50s images are still dark. When I turn on the lights, the K-50’s images are more properly exposed than the Kx’s.
Is there something wrong with my new K-50. I have done the tests using the 18-55 WR kit lens and my Tarmac 28-200 walkabout lens with the same results. Can anyone explain this?

05-29-2015, 10:19 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by MarkinIL Quote
I just upgraded from my Kx to a K-50. I wanted to test out the higher ISO so I started shooting in a dark environment on Av mode (Tripod mounted IR release). My K-50 is exceedingly dark with every shot. I can compensate for this by using exposure compensation but I don’t feel I should have to do that (and have to go to +5 to get a properly exposed image). My Kx had adequate exposures but was doing longer shutter speeds (ie at ISO 6400 f3.8 K50 shoots for 1/8s and Kx shoots for 1/5s. The Kx has a shutter speed 1.6X longer for nearly every image). When I set the K-50 manually to settings that match the Kx (i.e. 6400iso; 1/5; f3.8), the K-50s images are still dark. When I turn on the lights, the K-50’s images are more properly exposed than the Kx’s.