Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-28-2014, 06:44 PM   #1
Forum Member

Pentax K-3 for (primarily) video?

Hi fellow Pentax fans,

I was hoping for some advice from those of you who use the K-3 for shooting video. I'm a digital producer and make videos for the web, usually YouTube. I have a K-50 for stills and while it's not great for video, I love the feel, functionality and the availability of classic glass.

I wanted to ask whether you think the K-3 would be a good purchase for video making? I've watched a lot of the footage on YouTube, as well as comparisons with other DSLRs, and it looks great, but it's not always easy to tell given YouTube's compression. At the moment I'm shooting on an oooooold Canon 550D so obviously anything is going to be an improvement, but basically I wanted to know:

- would you recommend the K-3 for someone shooting primarily video?
- should I get the K-3 instead of for example a second-hand 5D mkii?
- does it matter that it's not full frame?
- for those of you who shoot a lot of video, what are the advantages/disadvantages?
- are there AA battery pack converter thingies available for the K-3? Ie the ones that take 3 AAs and slide into the battery compartment? Or would I be looking at one of those base-mounted things?
- any other advice/suggestions?

Thanks!

07-28-2014, 08:06 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Pentax is generally regarded as 'meh' for video.
You might be better advised to look at another brand.
Only the grip for the K-3 can take AAA batteries, not the body.
07-28-2014, 08:07 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by watchingskyfallatm Quote
- would you recommend the K-3 for someone shooting primarily video?
Sorry to say but Pentax isn't up to par with most other brands regarding video, you can get great results with a K3 for sure (even the K-50 isn't all that bad) but it is not your best option for the price IMO.