Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-16-2016, 07:55 PM - 1 Like   #1

Write speed SD card - test

has anybody made a test with the SD card ? I have a few older cards, Sandisk Ultra Plus SDHC I, 32Gb, read 48MB/s, Sandisk Extreme SDHC I 16Gb read 45MB/s write 30Mb/s. Adata SDHC 16Gb Class 10. Today I bought Samsung SDXC I PRO+ 64Gb 95Mb/s read and up to 90Mb/s write and it doesn't seem faster then my older cards.

I did a test with all the cards - same setting and of the same scenes, and highcontinuous shooting. Iso 500, 1/1250, f2,8. I took 17 frames in RAW, then the camera slowed down. All the cards almost all the time took 17 frames before it slowed down. When I started shooting, I set a timer when the led light that indicated access to card turned on and when it turned off, I stopped the timer. I did the test with all cards 6 times.

Average Result:

Sandisk Extreme - 26sec
Sandisk Ultra Plus - 25sec
Samsung PRO+ - 24sec
Adata - 80sec

Can anyone do a similar test with another card or do a better test ? Does anybody know the real max writing speed for K-1 ?
I am thinking that I will return the samsung card, because It doesn't make sense to keep it.
I bought it because I need a faster and bigger card for next weekend and I originally was thinking about Sandisk Extreme Pro 128Gb with the same spec as Samsung Pro+, but I couldn't find it in my area, but now I don't know if it will be a waste money to get a fast card when the camera cannot use it.

05-16-2016, 08:14 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
In burst mode, my results are consistent with yours. I was able to get a slightly faster write speed of 36Mb/s with the extreme pro while in HDR mode. Note that every file adds a bit of overhead in burst mode, hence the calculation is not a true measure of the write speed.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)