Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 9 Likes Search this Thread
09-01-2014, 06:46 PM   #1

beginner

I love to take photos of waterfalls. I have a 18-55 and a 55-300 lens. Would a 16-50 lens be better? I'm totally new at this and I'm learning as I go. This is just a hobby I have enjoyed for fun and for stress relief. I'm still learning the aperture and shutter speed which is not easy. I really want the soft "angelic" look for my waterfalls. Please, any input would be greatly appreciated!

09-01-2014, 07:12 PM - 2 Likes   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi Erica, and welcome. Yes the 16-50 is 'better' but I would suggest you learn your present lenses before spending a lot of money on a new lens. For taking waterfall shots you need a good tripod and some ND filters more than the 16-50.

You might want to start with a book called "Understanding Exposure" by Brian Peterson, it has been around awhile, I think it is in fourth edition so your library will have it if you do not want to buy, but it is not expensive.

For waterfalls you need a slow shutter speed. I usually start at about 1 sec and then adjust up or down to get the look I want. To do that you need a good sturdy tripod, not a cheap box store one. And you will most likely need a set of ND filters although you can try stopping your lens way down to f/13 or f/16 and if it is not too bright that might work. I prefer bright but completely overcast days as any beams of sunlight will cause hotspots that ruin the image. I also use a circular polarizer to cut down on glare and improve the colors.

One suggestion would be to get a 28mm, 35mm or 50mm manual lens with CPL and ND filters and tripod. Something like the Pentax A 50mm f/1.7 which can be found for $50 - 75 used. This gets you a good waterfall kit without spending a lot. You really do not need autofocus for this anyway.