Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-25-2014, 05:53 AM   #1

A big Canadian hello to my fellow Pentaxians.

Hi Everyone

My name is Greg and I am brand new member and I say hello from Toronto.

I am brand new to DSLR photography by being inspired by my older brother and the beautiful images he has captured, who I did not know, is quite the photographer. He has a Canon camera...but...we won't talk about that(LOL!!! ). So here I am.

I just purchased(yesterday) a Pentax K3 camera. I know that is a lot more camera for one that is just starting out in DSLR photography, but the price was right. It was an 'open box' special with only a 127 shutter actuations and at a considerable price reduction over a brand new one. So I took the plunge. With some advice from my brother, he suggested a good prime to start with, so I also purchased a Pentax 50mm F1.8 lens. I hope I made good choice for my initial lens. Like I said, quite a bit of camera for one to start off with, but as I grow, my camera grows along with me, that is why I thought the Pentax K3 was a good choice.

I am reading the manual and I have to admit it is a bit over whelming for a new comer to DSLR camera. It was relatively easier with my original point and shoot camera(LOL!!!). I now to pick the knowledge base of my fellow members. I would love to here suggestions, advice, methods to learn about operation and settings of the camera, future lens considerations, etc... If you have any this advice I would greatly appreciate them. I am sure all of you can put yourself as a new DSLR/SLR camera user and the joy of starting something new and the intimidation of that as well. So I do look forward to all your replies.

Take care Everyone and enjoy your day.
Happy Photography.
With kind regards,
Greg.

10-25-2014, 06:01 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum...

You might want to join this group... they have metopes every now and then...