12-26-2014, 10:09 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Need Help: Regarding low light photography

Hi Folks,

Merry Christmas to everyone...!
I am new to Pentax k50, I have below kit lenses -

1. Pentax SMC DA 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 AL WR
2. Pentax SMC DA 50-200mm f/4-5.6 ED WR

I will be attending a place tonight to see Christmas Light show and this puts me in a place to optimize my camera for best Low light photography.
I know there are lot of articles on this, but I would really appreciate if someone can help me tune my camera and recommend me what lens I should be using out of the two and what aperture setting and shutter settings i should be Using.
Being new, I keep Auto ISO now.

Note - I do not have a monopod or tripod.

God Bless you all.

12-26-2014, 10:28 AM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by JoisonF86 Quote
Hi Folks,

Merry Christmas to everyone...!

I will be attending a place tonight to see Christmas Light show and this puts me in a place to optimize my camera for best Low light photography.
I know there are lot of articles on this, but I would really appreciate if someone can help me tune my camera and recommend me what lens I should be using out of the two and what aperture setting and shutter settings i should be Using.

God Bless you all.
if you use Av mode,you can Keep the aperture at max(3.5 or 4)and set ISO to 1600 or 3200, other settings are automatical. It should work.

Then the next thing you want to do is to have stable shots to avoid the body shake as the shutter speed should be still low assuming not using flash.
12-26-2014, 10:47 AM   #3
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
Photos: Gallery
Try to put the camera down on something and use a remote or a self timer.
12-26-2014, 10:51 AM - 1 Like   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter