Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-02-2015, 07:35 PM   #1

Astrophotog, DSLR Noob

Hi all!

I just got my first DSLR, a Pentax K-3 with the 50mm kit lens. I used to do professional astrophotography work with big scopes and ccd's, and now I'm just a backyard amateur. I've been wanting to get back into astrophotography as I loved staying up to get the shots and then playing around with them in post. It's really neat to capture an image of something so far away. It's especially cool that the same thing can look so different with different equipment and processing techniques. So I finally got my K-3 this week (all you astronomers know what that means... it'll be cloudy for a month now)! I want to do nightscapes and Milky Way shots as well, so I'm saving up for a good quality wide angle lens (probably the samyang 10mm f2.8). I've got a 6" f8 newtonian telescope and a 4.5" newt. I'll be using my DSLR with the 4.5" until I can get the focuser on my 6" fixed. I'm looking forward to seeing everyone's photos and eventually sharing mine, as well as learning from the rest of the community. Clear skies!

08-02-2015, 08:41 PM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Good Evening and Welcome to the Forum!!