Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
12-19-2014, 08:22 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Lightroom

I've been trying to find some opinions on Lightroom values/settings for the K-5(II), but can't seem to find any. Some poster said he bumps the clarity slider up to 43... That's more than 3 times what I used to use on the Nikons!?!
I have done that in one of my (still test) images and it really worked rather well, to my surprise, where the Nikon would start to deteriorate well before those values were reached.
Being a complete newbie to Pentax, I ask for your help.
Are there any more "tricks" you can share?
I always bump the contrast to 10/15. I saw some saying they go up to 50... Someone mentioned sharpening up to 85... A little help, please?

12-19-2014, 08:30 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I don't think that such general settings make any sense at all, at least if you want to get the best out of your image. I'd never bump up the clarity that much in general, just in very singular cases (strong, contrasty BW conversion). Similarly, some images need more contrast, some less. There is no general recommendation, not even for the same camera.
12-19-2014, 08:41 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Agree highly with above post. I mostly base my Lightroom and any other post-processing application settings upon the actual image and its associated characteristics. The only general settings I've applied camera-model wide tend to be camera calibration profiles. I also have a fairly high default NR setting for Canon 7D files as they are just noisy.

M
12-19-2014, 09:12 AM   #4
Pentaxian