Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-31-2015, 07:17 PM   #1
Closed Account

Opinions on post processing software

Hi all, I am kinda new to post processing. That being said, I use Picasa right now to organize my shots and have played a bit with the settings in the past. I also have a paid copy of Photoshop Elements 11 that I bought for my daughter's high school computer class. Also have Silkypix that came with my K-50.

Pro/con for each? Is one better than the others?

01-31-2015, 07:54 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Of what you have, I'd use Elements.
I have used a couple of versions of Elements and found it quite OK.
I have since switched to Lightroom and find it quicker and easier to use, but then I'm no PP expert either!
01-31-2015, 07:57 PM   #3
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by 35wailin Quote
Hi all, I am kinda new to post processing. That being said, I use Picasa right now to organize my shots and have played a bit with the settings in the past. I also have a paid copy of Photoshop Elements 11 that I bought for my daughter's high school computer class. Also have Silkypix that came with my K-50.

You should read other threads in this sub-forum. Every opinion has been expressed :-)
01-31-2015, 08:07 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I agree with rod_grant. Elements is quite good. From what you have I would stick with Photoshop Elements. I have had no joy at all with the Pentax bundled software and have removed it from my computer entirely.

Lightroom can be used independently or complementary to Photoshop Elements. Each has its own strongpoints. There was a similar question the other day, here is my summary to that question.

LR has lens profiles. PSE does not
LR noise reduction is better than PSE
Spot healing in PSE is far superior to LR
PSE has layers LR does not
PSE has pano stitching and HDR
Both offer cataloging.