Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
12-21-2014, 11:14 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Auto Chinon SMC 50mm 1.7 not working auto on K-5 IIs !?

Good Morning!

I am a complete newbie and today for the first time, I mounted a used, older lens I purchased on eBay.
It is Auto Chinon SMC 50mm 1.7, K mount(snaps in without problem). When I snapped it into place and turned on the camera- (my brand new K-5 IIs my first ever DSLR:-)), and I got "F_ _ "message blinking and the shutter would not do anything. I assumed I will just put this lens on, and since it is AUTO, it will work same way as the 40mm pancake I have used in past week. Anyway, I wen to the Settings, and set Manual Aperture "Permitted". After that, this lens took images, but I had to Manually focus with the ring. I specifically do not want manual lenses until I learn to use the camera. How do I make this lens to automatically focus?

Thank you,
Kat

12-21-2014, 11:25 AM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by KatPal Quote
Good Morning!

It is Auto Chinon SMC 50mm 1.7, K mount(snaps in without problem). When I snapped it into place and turned on the camera- (my brand new K-5 IIs my first ever DSLR:-)), and I got "F_ _ "message blinking and the shutter would not do anything. I assumed I will just put this lens on, and since it is AUTO, it will work same way as the 40mm pancake I have used in past week. Anyway, I wen to the Settings, and set Manual Aperture "Permitted". After that, this lens took images, but I had to Manually focus with the ring. I specifically do not want manual lenses until I learn to use the camera. How do I make this lens to automatically focus?

Thank you,
Kat
I guess it's time to learn as you have a manual focus lens!