Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-01-2015, 08:26 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Repair a sub-standard kit lens?

It seems my first 18-55 AL II kit lens that I got many years ago was a "good copy". Unfortunately, it was messed up badly in a fall and isn't anymore. When I was upgrading to a K30, I got one with a 18-55 WR, expecting it to perform just as well as my old kit lens, with the bonus of WR. It's obviously not possible to do a direct A/B comparison between the two, but over time, I've got the impression that this newer lens isn't as good. It seems to be softer in the corners at the wide end.

I know it isn't really fair to expect too much from a kit lens, and that there are better lenses, but I thought it might be nice to have this as an option for when I need WR.

I'm pretty sure the newer lens is still under warranty, but I have no experience with sending a lens in for repair ( and it seems that the Pentax Canada repairs are contracted out as of last year ) . Would the warranty department regard this as a legitimate defect covered by the warranty? Even if they do accept it for warranty repair, is it likely that the calibration procedure will correct something like this? Or might it come back in worse shape than it went in?

I've got another normal zoom, so I don't mind having the lens in for repair. However, I'm disinclined to sink money into getting it repaired.

Any suggestions or experiences that anyone would care to share would be appreciated.

02-01-2015, 10:11 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by arkav Quote
I'm pretty sure the newer lens is still under warranty...However, I'm disinclined to sink money into getting it repaired.
If it is under warranty and defective, where is the cost, other than shipping?
02-01-2015, 11:03 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by SpecialK Quote
If it is under warranty and defective, where is the cost, other than shipping?