Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
12-01-2015, 08:29 PM   #1

Worth buying an auto focus lens?

I'm new to digital cameras. No idea whether an auto focus lens is a good idea. Do they make life easier? Does the camera have features that work better with an auto focus. Plenty of second hand ones on ebay to try. Are there any recommended ebayers or any to beware of?

12-01-2015, 08:33 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Autofocus makes life much, much more easy.

What camera do you have? What kind of pictures do you plan on taking? That will help answer things.
12-01-2015, 08:54 PM - 1 Like   #3
amateur dirt farmer
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
and plenty of sellers right here in the Marketplace...
12-01-2015, 09:09 PM   #4
mee
Veteran Member

Yes, you should try Autofocus lenses. You are using a K-50 so you have a lot of options available to you!

Any of the Pentax branded lenses with 'WR' in the name mean they have weather seals on them. Using specifically those with your K-50 will give you some degree of 'protection' in wet/humid conditions.

The bonus with an AF lens is you can set the camera to AF or Manual depending on how you like to shoot. So it is almost like 2 lenses in one.

Manual lenses though of course don't have such a feature. It is manual no matter what (even if the camera body is set to AF mode).

The most confusing thing to me starting out was when people said Auto or Manual. Because there is Auto/Manual FOCUS and APERTURE.

There are manual lenses that are also manual aperture (have to press the green button to meter). There are manual lenses that are auto aperture (no need to use green button). There are auto lenses that do both.

For this alone, I'd get a Pentax DA 18-55 WR or DA 18-135 WR and practice shooting with those. It will make life easier with a fully auto lens.

12-01-2015, 09:37 PM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter