Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-10-2016, 11:13 AM   #1

Some help with my DA 300mm f4 please

Hi there, I'm pretty new here, recently purchased my first nice lens, a DA*300mm f4, very nice. The first day I used it, it worked perfectly. Focus was smooth and quiet, fairly fast, I got some very good first photos with it.

Well it got really cold here, snowy too. I took it out to try to get some pictures of the birds in the snow. Suddenly the AF is having a terrible time achieving focus. It click and clicks, often just stops trying and doesn't get focus at all. It will do this over and over again, and only occasionally get focus. Once it even threw everything out of focus, then stopped and I couldn't get it to even try to focus.

So I'm pretty new to this lens, so if it is something I'm doing, what can I do differently? Or could it be the cold? I'm not sure the exact temperature while I was out, but I think it was around 17 degrees F. I'm just confused. It worked so great the first time I used it, but it was a little nicer out, much warmer too. Like I said, I totally accept it could be me. I just need some advice here.

Thanks!

02-10-2016, 11:50 AM   #2
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by BarnowlAnnie Quote
Hi there, I'm pretty new here, recently purchased my first nice lens, a DA*300mm f4, very nice. The first day I used it, it worked perfectly. Focus was smooth and quiet, fairly fast, I got some very good first photos with it.

Well it got really cold here, snowy too. I took it out to try to get some pictures of the birds in the snow. Suddenly the AF is having a terrible time achieving focus. It click and clicks, often just stops trying and doesn't get focus at all. It will do this over and over again, and only occasionally get focus. Once it even threw everything out of focus, then stopped and I couldn't get it to even try to focus.