Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-07-2015, 10:33 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
35mm negative scanner

What's your opinion on best 35mm negative scanner right now? Cost is a consideration. Do any of these produce RAW files? Thanks for tolerating this fairly basic question.

Last edited by jcdoss; 07-22-2015 at 07:44 PM.
07-07-2015, 10:58 AM - 1 Like   #2

I am not an expert, but I did ask a similar question and got some more knowledgeable people to respond: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/107-film-processing-scanning-darkroom/295...ml#post3300429

If you're interested in what result the Epson v550 can give with the normal holder, have a look at my flickr page.
07-07-2015, 12:04 PM   #3

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by jcdoss Quote
What's your opinion on best 35mm negative scanner right now? Cost is a consideration. Do any of these product RAW files? Thanks for tolerating this fairly basic question.
Consumer level or Industrial level?

Consumer probably looking for Nikon CoolScan (although old but still works perfectly).. Or you could probably go for flatbed EPSON for mid/large formats. None of the scanner will ever produce RAW. Best you can do is 36~42bit TIFF file compression. (pre-defined color curve and spaces). Scanner does not save pure RAW data like digital cameras.
07-07-2015, 12:28 PM   #4
Veteran Member

You can get a macro lens and a film holder for less. This would allow you to process your "camera-scanned" images using the same tools you use today.

07-07-2015, 12:40 PM - 1 Like   #5
UMC

Photos: Gallery
Having scanned thousands of slides and hundreds of negatives, I think I can share some basic considerations:

While scanning slides is pretty much straight forward as long as you have a calibrated scanner and appropriate software, I found scanning negatives much harder. Or as someone said "scanning negatives is rather an art than a science".