Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-04-2015, 09:01 AM   #1

Compare pentax K1000 and Ricoh xr1000s

Hello every one,

I'm a newbie and I am confused about the pentax K1000 and Ricoh xr1000s. Their prices are similar (around 50$) so I dont know which one I should choose. Please help me. Thanks a lot.

08-04-2015, 09:48 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Never used the XR1000/KR10 but a manual can be had from the Butkus site - ricoh kr-10 XR 1000X users manual
It seems the Ricoh has an electronic shutter (battery dependent) with aperture priority capability as opposed to the fully manual (not battery dependent) K1000.
08-04-2015, 10:35 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I have had this Ricoh KR_10 Super for about 20 years.

KR-10 super's "Pro" is the electronic exposure timer with a wide exposure coupling range that works well in low light in range 16 seconds to 1/1000 sec.
Much wider than the Pentax MX, and I am not sure how it compares with the K1000

KR-10 super's "Con" ( even with good eyes) is its early generation lcd display in the viewfinder of the shutter speed.
( selected either manually or in the green "A" mode) and the flashing over & under arrows.
These are not illuminated. Indoors, or outdoors in the evening these may be impossible to see.

The "Con is the reason I rarely use the camera.

Ricoh KR-5 Super2 and Pentax MX both have LEDS and are easier for me to use than the KR-10.

And Les is correct. KR-10 Super has to have a good battery in it.
Attached Images

08-04-2015, 12:42 PM   #4
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by wombat2go Quote
I have had this Ricoh KR_10 Super for about 20 years.