Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
01-23-2017, 11:55 AM   #1

Which bounce flash for ME Super?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I want to get a cheap bounce flash for my Pentax ME Super. I don't really care about quality, as I'm an amateur, as long as it's not complete crap. I just don't know which new flash units fit this old camera, or should I go with a used one? I was looking at a Sunpak for pretty cheap, but I don't know if it fits. What do I need to look for?

01-23-2017, 01:14 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Vicioustuna2012 Quote
I want to get a cheap bounce flash for my Pentax ME Super. I don't really care about quality, as I'm an amateur, as long as it's not complete crap. I just don't know which new flash units fit this old camera, or should I go with a used one? I was looking at a Sunpak for pretty cheap, but I don't know if it fits. What do I need to look for?
Are you looking for full manual flash control (manually adjustable output) or auto.
The older Vivitar 283 is a good flash, but doesn't have swivel and is full power only on manual. Typically has good Auto mode.
The Vivitar 285 has swivel and manually adjustable output.

I think this flash https://www.amazon.com/Neewer-Speedlite-Panasonic-Cameras-Digital-Standard/d...8AJEY6PQHFQ3Y3 has manually adjustable output.

The ME Super doesn't have TTL flash metering, so you need auto thyristor (?) for auto flash exposure.
01-23-2017, 01:22 PM   #3
Pentaxian

When I bought my ME Super a Sunpak flash was in the package. It worked fine, though I dreamed of getting a Pentax AF280T, just for the flash ready confirmation in the viewfinder (and to have a complete Pentax kit).