Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-04-2009, 10:01 PM   #1

Pentax istDS lens recommendation (I'm a newbie)

Hi everyone, I just bought a used istDS body for cheap and am looking for an inexpensive lens for the camera. I'm very new to the DSLR scene. What would you recommend?

04-04-2009, 10:11 PM   #2

the Kit lens DA 18-55mm is always a good lens to start with. you can find it under $80. You might also want to specify the usage, like Portrait or lanscape and etc.
04-04-2009, 10:16 PM   #3

Original Poster
I'll be using it to get my feet wet learning to take DSLR photos. Both portrait and landscape, but probably more portrait. I would really like to be able to take good indoor photos in lower light. My P&S cameras stink at that. Do you think I should go with a prime lens? Or would the standard kit lens you mentioned be more flexible and experimental for someone new?
04-04-2009, 10:26 PM   #4

Hi, welcome to the club. The DS is a great little camera. It was actually my first DSLR. I think a good lens for low light and portaiture, that is fairly inexpensive is the SMCP F 50mm f1.7. If you look around you could get one for around $130. I think there are a few selling on this forum right now.

Best of luck

04-04-2009, 10:30 PM   #5

the Kit lens will require flash in low light indoor shooting. prime lens like 50mm f1.4-f2 is pretty good, the popular one is 50mm FA 1.4 $200. if you want it cheap, u can get a manual 50mm f1.7 for $50. it's pretty sharp and no flash needed shooting at ISO 1600.
04-05-2009, 03:38 PM   #6

Original Poster
Thanks for the suggestions everyone. I think I will probably start with a manual prime lens. That way I will save some money and also learn how to use the camera settings properly.
04-05-2009, 03:48 PM   #7

Photos: Gallery