Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-27-2010, 05:06 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Please Help with AF500FTZ TTL flash

Hello, Can someone help me with my new flash? I am new to the dslr and recenctly bought a pentax K-X, since then I bought a Pentax AF500 FTZ ttl flash. It seems that every picture I take with the flash it is way overexposed.Am I doing something wrong with the setting or is this flash not compatible with my body?

03-27-2010, 08:18 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by highhog1 Quote
Hello, Can someone help me with my new flash? I am new to the dslr and recenctly bought a pentax K-X, since then I bought a Pentax AF500 FTZ ttl flash. It seems that every picture I take with the flash it is way overexposed.Am I doing something wrong with the setting or is this flash not compatible with my body?
Sorry to tell you this, but I had to sell my AF 500 FTZ and buy an AF 540 FGZ because the 500 won't work on any DSLR from the k10d up. Sigh.
03-27-2010, 08:28 PM   #3
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

CR I also sold my AF500 for the same reason. The flash fired at full power all the time. It is a TTL flash and not P-TTL. You might have some control in manual mode on the camera but it's guessing on the correct exposures.
07-11-2010, 07:36 AM   #4
Inactive Account

I am using one on my new K-7 and it is working well with any mode on the camera. The only two problems that I see are: in trailing mode it is firing max. Power, but I can use it in manual mode, and the red eyes reduce is not working.

07-11-2010, 07:46 AM   #5
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus