Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-06-2008, 07:53 PM - 1 Like   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Infrared Photography with a non-converted K10D

I've been doing some infrared photography with my K10D of late, and I figured I would share a little with the crowd about what I have found. A couple notes first: All of the thumbnails below can be clicked and should open in a new window at a larger, though not gigantic size. Secondly, there are a number of good primers on infrared photography available online that you should read if you want to have an idea about what you are doing. Thirdly, my steps are what I do on a K10D. My understanding is that the K100D has a much less effective IR block filter, and therefore your settings would be very different if you use the K100D. Fourth, I am a beginner at this and welcome any feedback. Enjoy!

The equipment I use:
1) K10D. Unaltered. As you would buy it at the store
2) 720nm Infrared filter. There are a couple different filter choices with regard to what wavelength of light you want to allow through. 720 is a good starting point and the one that most websites recommend. I have no experience with other wavelengths. Some red light will get through, but very little. No other color will get through.
3) I have three lenses I've used so far. A Pentax -M 50mm F1.7, an -FA 35mm F2.0, and a Vivitar 28mm F2.8. I use the 35 and the 28 the most because of the larger field of view. There is a picture of the vivitar lens below. Pics of the Pentax lenses can be found elsewhere on this site.
4) Corel Paintshop Pro X. Many of you probably use photoshop. That's fine. My terminology will be a little different but I'm sure you have the same functions.
5) A tripod. Any will do.

My Exposure Value Settings: