Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-24-2009, 09:09 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
SDM repair costs and secondary failure rates

Hello,
I am new to Pentax DSLRs and am contemplating some lenses with SDM. Quite apprehensive at the moment given the failure reports, but still interested given the high quality glass and the belief that the problem is (will be) addressed on lenses.

What are the repair costs with dead SDM lenses (Pentax USA / Cris)?

Of those with repaired SDM lenses (due to faulty SDM) have there been any secondary failures?

Thanks.

Yuri

11-25-2009, 12:18 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
A sad question!

I do not know the US prices and I doubt if you can find the secondary failure rate.

Still, I hope that the nature of your ironic, sad question is appreciated by those who are responsible for this state of affairs:
- Someone wants to buy a Pentax lens.
- He realizes that it may fail (un)expectedly.
- He is prepared to pay extra (even before buying the lens) to get it fixed.
- He wonders how long the fixed lens will go on working...

Only the insiders can damage a brand name this much.
How very unfortunate.
11-25-2009, 02:43 AM   #3
Veteran Member

It is sad indeed.

It's even sadder that noone says your question is unreasonable.
11-25-2009, 02:55 AM   #4
Eds

yurihuta-My 16-50 mm is at CRIS now for SDM failure repair. Naturally the lense was out of warranty by about 3 months. Their estimate to me for repair was $187 plus shipping bringing it to $199 for repairs. Also, if it makes any difference, time is an issue. The lense has been there for about 2.5 weeks, just heard from them two days ago. The estimate is another 5 weeks. So, for me, its aout a 2month turnover for the repair. Hope this anwers your question. Eds

11-25-2009, 05:38 AM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter