Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-16-2010, 07:03 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
New PL + Lens Hood or Step-Up Ring?

I've been researching threads and other review sites for a few hours tonight, and I still can't come to a conclusion. I'm interested in getting a hood for my DA-L 18-55 and a Hoya polarizer.

So far the most plausible option for me seems to be the PRO1 and this replica hood with the opening for polarizers.

I already have a 55mm polarizer though, so I'm contemplating just buying a cheap step-up ring. It's a Tiffen, which I think many forum members aren't too fond of, but I am a beginner so it might be something to get me started. If I do just step up to 55mm though, I won't be able to use a hood, right?

My last thought is to get one of the cheaper Hoyas. I can't find what series this is, so I'm guessing it's the "Green" series (?). I understand it's lesser quality than the PRO1, but it's also a heck of a lot less money for me. It's not as thin, either, but I should still be able to use a lens hood, right?

I'm still leaning towards the PRO1, but what do you all think about the other alternatives? Do you think the quality is good enough for a beginner, or is the extra $40 or so worth it?

Thanks!

Kevin

05-16-2010, 09:29 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Wow...I am thrilled to see some cheap hoods made with the cut out and its a bayonet mount not screw on. That is quite a discovery.