Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-18-2010, 12:16 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Helios 44-2 "wobble" and a solution

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I thought i'd share this suggestion to cure the looseness or rocking of the Helios 44-2 lens on the camera mount (and other lenses with small diameter mount barrel).
Helios users may have experienced this and a search of old threads brought up these three comments:

QuoteOriginally posted by Jewelltrail Quote
Hey, I was psyched about picking up the Helios 44M, then I read about the wobbling thing and started to have second thoughts...

I am new to these wobbling lenses. Does someone have some insight?
QuoteOriginally posted by Igilligan Quote
I just got the Helios 44M-2 and I can verify what Figmental was saying about the 44-2 being floppy on the camera. The back of the lens has no real support against the camera body so the it does move around.
I am a little surprized there is not more people complaining about the 44-2 as it really does not fit on the camera as nicely as the others.
QuoteOriginally posted by figmental1978 Quote
I guess you're referring to the Helios 44 ...The only issue I have with mine is that it wobbles on my K10D which really bugs me but doesn't seem to bother others as much.

i too found the wobble to be a little bothersome since the focus rings on these lenses tend to be stiff anyway, and then there is a split second of play in the mount before it turns.

The problem was eliminated by switching to a specific knock-off M42 adapter ring.

The ring i had success with came from eBay seller "jiakgong" and are $7.70 shipped (from Hong Kong)

here is a link to one: