Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-18-2010, 01:58 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Voigtlander 58mm vs. Pentax Da70mm

Hi, my first post on this forum.

I'm looking for my first upgrade lens for my k-x and a I want a telephoto lens for portraits and candid street photos and i'm pretty much down to these two primes. I'm new to digital so a manual focus lens wouldnt annoy me, unless people have trouble focusing it without a focusing screen. I've checked photozone and others for reviews, but I want to hear from people with hands on experience.

Which lens has the shallower DOF wide open?
Is the resolution of the voigt at f/1.4 usable? If not, how much does it have to be stopped down to be usable?
Which has a smoother focus movement? I hear they're both damp but that the Voigt is sometimes too stiff.
Is the DA worth $150 dollars more?

Photos would be cool if someone already compared and contrasted these two lenses

05-18-2010, 02:19 PM   #2
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I can speak of the Voigtlander Nokton 58m f1.4. It is a superb lens, with outstanding built quality, excellent image quality, highly recommended by all Pentaxians who own it, and its reviews score 9.5/10 in average:
PentaxForums.com Third-Party Lens Review Database - Voigtlander 58mm f1.4 Lens Reviews

The focus movement of my lens is really smooth (no stiffness at all).

I bought the lens of low-light outdoor photography but use it also indoor without flash. I have use it at large aperture (f1.4) with no particular issue. I found enjoying the lens for many applications that are not restriccted to low-light. See some examples (thumbnail with url):

Another example:
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/members/hcc-albums-photographs-picture210...mgp1018-pt.jpg

Although not as small as the DA70mm pancake, the Nokton 58mm is a small, light-weight lens:

I can highly recommend the Voigtlander Nokton 58mm f1.4 that is excellent value for money.