Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-29-2010, 12:19 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
SMC 28mm SHIFT @ APS-C - pros vs cons? images??

Being an architect by trade, i like taking shots of architecture... I have various primes and a Sigma 10-20 for interior shots or where its hard to get far enough away outside, but of course in that case, the perspective can get a little out of control so have been wondering about the old pentax 28mm shift lens as a possibility.

Given the crop factor though, Im not sure if 28mm is remotely wide enough any more - does anyone have any thoughts or maybe even shots? Is there any 3rd party shift lens that go wider? Or what about just using the 'skew' type of function via photoshop or similar to correct it digitally? (I had thought doing it optically would probably be better, but have no experience with shift lenses to know anything about how they behave).

I should say that I do want to eventually get to a level of doing architectural photography at a professional (chargeable) level as a side to my work, so I need to work out what yields the highest quality results!

thanks in advance!

Last edited by JayR; 05-31-2010 at 07:46 AM.
05-29-2010, 12:36 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Pro architectural photography? Sounds like you need something like 4x5 at least. I am not aware of any wider alternative for the k mount. Canon TS-E17/4L is probably the best alternative.
05-29-2010, 01:37 AM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by wlachan Quote
Pro architectural photography? Sounds like you need something like 4x5 at least. I am not aware of any wider alternative for the k mount. Canon TS-E17/4L is probably the best alternative.
4x5? as in medium format?
Perhaps if i was going to charge those sorts of studio rates, but im aiming a little lower and as a bit on the side.

For now its strictly APS-C (K-7)
(and im assuming there is no Canon-Pentax adapter?)
05-29-2010, 02:37 AM   #4