Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-03-2010, 01:53 AM   #1

selecting first prime

I am a DSLR newbie, just bought k-x.

I am trying to choose the prime lens. This is going to be my only prime for a while. I want something not too wide but not too narrow, like 20-40 mm.

The main criteria is the "speed" of the lens, that is it should be fastest with the same aperture. At the same time, I do not want to use the widest aperture possible since this reduces depth or sharpness a lot, while I am interested in landscape shots.

So I want to use high aperture numbers. In fact I want to focus on infinity and it should still be sharp for close objects (like 10-20 meters).

So here are my choices so far:
SMC Pentax DA 35mm f/2.8 Macro Limited
SMC Pentax DA 21mm f/3.2 AL Limited
SMC Pentax DA 40mm f/2.8 Limited
Sigma AF 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM PENTAX

It would seem like 35mm/Macro is the best since it also gives macro, but doesn't macro capability decrease light passing through? That is, wouldn't other lenses be faster because of no macro?
Also, 40mm and 21mm are "slim" models, doesn't it mean they are the fastest (since there are less glass so less light is lost)?
I would also examine other affordable options.

Oh and another criteria is the lowest item variety possible... since I probably won't be able to test the lens before buying unfortunately.

06-03-2010, 02:23 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You're way off on your light calculations. First off, just because a lens is a macro lens doesn't mean it's slower than a non-macro counterpart. The only truth to that is that is that macro lenses sometimes feature smaller apertures by design, to increase sharpness.