Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-21-2010, 09:06 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Other A-Type Lenses?

So I'm fairly new to the Pentax realm, and wanted to ask what may be a simple question. I recently ordered a Pentax-A 50mm/1.7 off of ebay, and am stoked about the A series line. I like the idea of having the convenience of aperture control with my K-7, but the feel of the old manual focus lenses.

The way I see it, I can use the newer AF fast zooms from Pentax, Sigma, or Tamron for action shots (kids, sports, wildlife), and the older MF primes for artistic stuff where time spent composing isn't pressured (landscape, journalism, still-life, portraits, etc).

It also helps that the MF primes are a good deal cheaper than their AF counterparts!

So here's the question, which sets of primes other than the SMC Pentax-A series offer the same "auto-aperture" (i.e. adjustable in-camera) and the same quality, but are still MF (or AF but relatively inexpensive like the A series)?

For example, did Sigma, Ricoh, Vivatar, or the like ever release any that were KA mount compatible (and fully usable)? I've seen Ricoh primes with an "A" aperture setting that were K mount but not compatible with (I guess) the KA mount electronics.

Basically I'm just trying to get a grasp of what's out there like the A series that's inexpensive, but quality glass with fully functioning in-camera aperture control.

Thanks in advance fellow Pentaxians for helping out this newbie!

06-21-2010, 09:25 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Most of the 3rd Party companies have built lenses comparable to the Pentax A series as well as the M series. The Tamron Adaptall and Adaptall-2 lenses have mounts available that allow them to work like M lenses, a PK/A that allow them to work like A lenses and also m42 mounts.
06-21-2010, 09:50 PM   #3
Veteran Member

As far as the Ricoh PK/A-R mount goes, it's a fairly easy mod to make it work.