Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-08-2010, 02:30 AM   #31
Veteran Member




Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Scarborough, Ontario
Photos: Albums
Posts: 488
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Jodokast96 Quote
Just got the replacement copy, and it permforms the same way. At 200mm, f/3.2 is not available. But at a bit less than 200mm, it is. Also, if I go just a bit less than 200 @ f/3.2, and then zoom it to 200, the aperture automatically changes to f/2.8.
But... when you press down the button or click it, then it turns back to 3.2 ;((( (on mine it turns back to 4.5, I thought I tricked it, but when I tried it just said it was 4.5 even though it was previously saying 4...)

07-08-2010, 04:10 PM   #32
Veteran Member
Jodokast96's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Erial, NJ USA
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 2,133
No, nothing sets it back at all. It stays exactly as I stated above. If I can set it at 2.8, EXIF shows 2.8. Set it at 3.2, it reads 3.2. It's just that 3.2 is not available at 200mm.
07-09-2010, 03:38 PM   #33
Veteran Member




Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Scarborough, Ontario
Photos: Albums
Posts: 488
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Jodokast96 Quote
No, nothing sets it back at all. It stays exactly as I stated above. If I can set it at 2.8, EXIF shows 2.8. Set it at 3.2, it reads 3.2. It's just that 3.2 is not available at 200mm.
Gah... SIGMA! WHYYYYYYYYYYY?
07-09-2010, 04:17 PM   #34
Pentaxian
Marc Sabatella's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 10,686
Probably because practically no zoom is *really* it's stated aperture at the long end. They just hope the camera will round down instead of up. Although it does seem surprising, I suspect you're making a big deal about nothing - whether it reports f/2.8 or f/3.2, the *real* aperture is almost certainly somewhere in between.

07-09-2010, 04:45 PM   #35
Veteran Member
Jodokast96's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Erial, NJ USA
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 2,133
It's no issue for me at all. It was just something I noticed, and happened to recall having just read this, so I thought I'd pass it along.
07-10-2010, 03:07 PM   #36
Pentaxian
Marc Sabatella's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 10,686
Right, I was referring to the "WHYYYYYYYYYYY?"
07-10-2010, 03:37 PM   #37
Veteran Member
Jodokast96's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Erial, NJ USA
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 2,133
Ah...
07-10-2010, 06:03 PM   #38
Veteran Member




Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Scarborough, Ontario
Photos: Albums
Posts: 488
Original Poster
Yeah... umm... doesn't really bother me much... ;( but the wrong focal length information does... my flash has the zoom thingy so I'm not really sure how it would affect it...

So far though... it takes pictures, it takes pictures well.

Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
50mm, k-mount, pentax lens, slr lens
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
True ISO of K-X Eagle_Friends Pentax DSLR Discussion 6 04-04-2010 06:04 AM
Is it true? graphicgr8s General Talk 14 09-12-2009 08:12 AM
True to form graphicgr8s General Talk 25 07-09-2009 01:58 PM
Can this be true? rburgoss Photographic Technique 4 09-09-2008 10:25 AM
Is it true?! madisonphotogrl Pentax DSLR Discussion 76 03-19-2008 05:09 PM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:36 AM. | See also: NikonForums.com, CanonForums.com part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top