Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-14-2010, 06:15 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Is SDM patented?

My thinking is that...if there are any revisions/adjustments from the original patented design, they would have to re-patent it again would they?

but then i have zero knowledge on patenting something however it does sound logical.

07-14-2010, 06:28 PM   #2
Pentaxian

They don't have to repatent when they revise/adjust a patented design. They can come up with new ideas and patent them, but nobody forces them to patent.

Patents in the USA last about 20 years. Think back to 1990 in some research lab in Japan. Google says Canon's first USM in 1987. So whatever they were doing back then is presumably ripe for copying relentlessly. So more and more USM technology will fall outside of their original patent grants.

Maybe Pentax lenses will get improved technology as the window continues forward exposing older protected ideas.
07-14-2010, 09:32 PM   #3
Pentaxian

I don't think Pentax needs to worry about anyone stealing SDM from them.
07-14-2010, 09:35 PM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Wheatfield Quote
Dang you Wheat! I am presently cleaning the decaf off my computer screen.

07-14-2010, 09:36 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
ewe da man!! and absolutely correct! Thanks for the giggle, it's been that sorta summer and I needed a good laugh! Ya whacky Canuck! Maybe I need to get caught up on old Corner Gas epsiodes!
07-14-2010, 09:40 PM   #6
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by brecklundin Quote
Maybe I need to get caught up on old Corner Gas epsiodes!
Oh my gosh, that is my favorite show! It used to be on WGN, and I cant find it anymore. (Sorry for the thread hijack)
07-15-2010, 06:57 AM   #7
Pentaxian

I know everybody is getting a kick out of the idea that others might copy SDM.

But the fact is that many of the original SDM patents are hitting their end of life.