Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-17-2010, 06:48 PM   #1

Info on Lenses needed - F2.8 120mm, F3.5 28 mm wide angle Pentax, etc.

I just bought these items (all in excellent condition) off of someone that was selling them locally.

I'm a very much a beginner and am wondering if anyone can tell me if these are good lenses and deals that I got on them, and what these particular lenses are good for. I'll be using them with a Pentax k-x

Thanks in advance!

This standard K-mount F1.8 55 mm lens is in excellent operating condition. $30

F2.8 120 mm Pentax telephoto lens in excellent working condition. $40

These k-mount extension tubes are great for macro-photography. Set of three different lengths with case. $30

F3.5 28 mm wide angle Pentax K-mount lens with case. In excellent operating condition $30

07-17-2010, 06:57 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
All excellent lenses, as far as I know, and at very good prices. 55/1.8 should be good for portraits and pictures in low light. 28/3.5 is a very good wide angle on film, but not that wide on a DSLR. It can be used as a "walk-around" lens for general shooting, although indoors you may need a flash for more light. I have never used the 120/2.8, but it has a good reputation. In any case it isfairly rare and usually priced much higher.

If you put the extension tubes between your camera and say the 55mm lens, you will be able to focus much more closely than usual, but not far away. You will need a fair bit of light, though.

The tubes may have been about the right price, but everything else was cheap (55mm ) to dirt cheap (120mm). Good shopping! now get out there and take some pictures with them!
07-17-2010, 07:04 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Nick Siebers Quote