Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-20-2010, 03:20 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
How to know if a lens is made for Pentax???

Hi,
I am a beginner and I am confronted with a situation where I had seen a bunch of old lenses in a second hand market. I wanted to check if there is any information on the lens that says if the lens fits a Pentax k-mount or canon or Nikon etc. But I was disappointed.

I want to know if there is a way to know (any code on the lens etc) if the lens is made with a Pentax k-mount.

07-20-2010, 04:20 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Oftentimes, this isn't in the lens name, but rather in the product number. Therefore, always be on the lookout for "for Pentax", and inspect the mount visually.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
07-20-2010, 05:14 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
pay attention to its mount. its not that hard actually. somehow it will look confusing at firts time, but you will understand surely.
07-20-2010, 06:27 AM   #4

Might be silly answer but you could take a picture of a K mount (print it of course) and keep with you to compare while out.

07-20-2010, 06:30 AM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by gut1kor Quote
Hi,
I am a beginner and I am confronted with a situation where I had seen a bunch of old lenses in a second hand market. I wanted to check if there is any information on the lens that says if the lens fits a Pentax k-mount or canon or Nikon etc. But I was disappointed.