Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-21-2010, 02:44 PM   #1

Super: Super-Takumar 4 300--Advice

Hi:
I have the opportunity to purchase a super tak 300mm f4. As I am new to mf lens on my 5d2, I would appreciate some advice, comments or key points I should be aware of in evaluating the lens.
Thanks
David

07-21-2010, 03:23 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
be aware that if you don't have a split image precise focusing is difficult.

I am not sure of the M42 to canon adaptor you have and whether it has contacts to provide focus confirmation or not. If it does not, manual focusing could be interesting.

The lens will exhibit a reasonable amunt of lateral CA, in our of focus areas, with green shading on one side and purple on the other,.

this is easily removed in PP if the software allows for selection of CA tones and radius.
07-21-2010, 04:50 PM   #3

Original Poster
Lowell; I have no idea what all of that means. Could you simplify?
Thanks
David
07-21-2010, 07:07 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
The simplest way is to buy it and see for yourself

07-21-2010, 07:27 PM   #5
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by davidhm Quote
Lowell; I have no idea what all of that means. Could you simplify?
Thanks
David
David

My reply is based on the assumption that you have a canon camera

In this case there are different types of adaptors those that are simply mechanical interfaces and those with contacts to interface with the camera body and trick it into thinking a canon lens is attached, to the limit that the camera's af confirmation works and indicate focus has been achieved

You can also install an optical focusing aid called a split image where the image is split in half and the hal es align when focus is achieved. These are a great help for mfnlenses

As for CA this is chromatic aborition and is a misalignment of colors in the out of focus areas