Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-02-2010, 10:58 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
M42 adapter advice

Sorry if this subject is discussed before. A quick search (on titles at least) didn't return much, hence my new thread.

I recently picked up a M42 lens and don't have an adapter for my K200D.

Question is, for a total newbie on M42 system, what adapter would be good. Pentax branded or others? I see the Pentax branded ones more than 2x the non-branded. Is it worth that much?

Oh. And in case of Pentax branded, I don't see them in Adorama or B&H.

Thanks

Last edited by siva.ss.kumar; 08-02-2010 at 10:58 AM. Reason: One more question.
08-02-2010, 11:25 AM   #2
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You should replace your keyboard with a search button that works.

Genuine Pentax adapter from the Pentax web store, only available new directly from Pentax.
08-02-2010, 01:37 PM   #3
Veteran Member

M42 lenses on Pentax K

I use these without any problems at all.
08-02-2010, 01:50 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Ira Quote
You should replace your keyboard with a search button that works.

Genuine Pentax adapter from the Pentax web store, only available new directly from Pentax.
My thoughts exactly. Do not complain to us about the price of said adapter. Just get it.

08-02-2010, 02:03 PM   #5
Veteran Member

I agree with those that suggested the Genuine Pentax adapter.
Get it and save yourself headaches. It assures infinity focus and is fairly easy to use.
I also use the cheaper flanged adapters but only for macro or closeups.
08-02-2010, 02:11 PM   #6
Veteran Member

I bought a third party m42 adapter that works very well with my m42 glasses and didn't cost me 50$ plus like the original pentax one. I believe it is overpriced for what it is.