Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-09-2010, 02:09 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Vivitar 75-205mm f3.8 1 touch zoom lens Aperture blades cleaning

Anyone here ever clean oil off the aperature blades on one of these? The lens is in great shape except for the slow, oily aperture. I don't have a schematic to work from so I would appreciate any wisdom that could be shared.

JB

08-09-2010, 06:33 PM   #2

I did this on one back in the 80s. Just don't lose little parts, take your time, and use screwdrivers that fit. Don't touch anything inside the lens that you don't need to touch.

I think I cleaned mine with a fancy, low-lint q-tip designed for cleaning cassette heads (it WAS in the 80s) dipped in everclear.
08-10-2010, 08:30 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Thanks. I'm a chemist and have those type Q-tips in the lab. I have most any solvent you can imagine. Did you go in the front, or the mount?

JB
08-11-2010, 04:04 PM   #4

I started from the mount end of the lens.

The hardest part of reassembly was the little arm that interfaces with the aperture ring. It is the part that actually controls the aperture. Very fiddly, and down in a hole...

I am a clumsy twit but managed to fix mine, so go ahead and dig in. My lens is actually sitting here in front of me, and still takes photos now and then. These are very nicely made, but are overshadowed by the Series 1 lenses of the same era.

08-11-2010, 08:29 PM   #5
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Thanks again. I'll set aside some time in the near future to do this work. I'll let you know how it goes.

JB
08-11-2010, 10:11 PM   #6
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery