Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-14-2010, 08:32 AM   #1

Problem with M42 adapter, how do you use it?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hello all,

I've been using slrs for more than 25 years now. I'm into dslrs for 5 years and recently I moved from sony-minolta to pentax.

I've ordered an M42 adapter to pentax from ebay, to use my old M42 lenses and a Takumar 50/1.4 I recently bought. However, it seems that something is wrong with the adapter, it is very difficult for it to screw in the camera body and then almost impossible to take it out. The adapter is the following:

M42 to Pentax k10D k100D K110D K20D DL adapter(silver) on eBay (end time 30-Aug-10 09:03:32 BST)

and I use the special tool to take it out but it doesn't move at all, so I had to use 2 screwdrivers and then did not make any other attempt in order not to damage the body.

Did I buy a lemon adapter or do I do something wrong?

Thanks a lot in advance for any tip,

Timos

08-14-2010, 09:03 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
This is exactly why most here recommend getting the genuine Pentax Mount Adapter K.
08-14-2010, 09:05 AM   #3
Veteran Member

With the cheap clones of official Pentax adapters, YOU MUST REMOVE THE SCREW AND CLIP!! Once those are gone, you can screw the adaptor onto a lens and tighten it with a PK rear lens cap, used as a wrench. Failure to remove the screw and clip WILL DRIVE YOU APESHIT!
08-14-2010, 09:08 AM   #4
Forum Member

I am not sure since I use the K-X

My adapter says pentax K not PK like yours.
I think I had the problem in a store with a PK adapter. This however could not be mounted at all.

Taking the adapter off is a little tricky though.

take off the lense