Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-17-2010, 03:48 PM   #1

18-55mm WR performance

Hi all,

I am in process of looking for an 18-55 WR to use for taking shots of the little one when out and about at the waterpark, beach etc. As they are ~230$+ taxes new here in canada, wondering what the risks would be to get one of these used.

I have heard that the 18-55 WR is not as sharp as the 18-55mm Ver 2 of the lens. While I find that hard to believe, I would like to get confirmation that this is the case for those who actually have used the lens.

I do print, typically between 4x6 up to 8x10, so image quality is important. While I am not an expert photographer, I believe I can hold my own when it comes to portrait, and situational photos. Softness is typically not an issue for me unless it is blatantly obvious in the corners, or in one corner etc... I would stop down typically to F7.1/8.0 as I would be in brighter spots.

While my DA17-70 would then sit idle in the corner, I do not want to risk any leakage into the lens body itself, regardless of the seal that exists at the mount....

08-17-2010, 03:57 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I sold mine practically new for $160 a year ago, so I'm sure you'll be able to find one in our pentax marketplace for a lot less than $230 canadian.

SMC Pentax-DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL II Lens Reviews - Pentax Lens Review Database
SMC Pentax-DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL WR Lens Reviews - Pentax Lens Review Database

The regular kit lens II does score higher than the WR version according to the lens reviews, but I was under the impression that the two were the same optically. Maybe it depends on whether or not your WR is covered in dust or not

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)